Kim Scott

Country: Australia

Kim Scott’s Benang (1999) was the first novel by an Indigenous writer to win the Miles Franklin Award. That Deadman Dance (2010) also won Australia’s premier literary prize, among many others. Proud to be among those who call themselves Noongar, Kim is Founder and Chair of the Wirlomin Noongar Language and Story Project. Taboo is his latest novel, and is shortlisted for the Miles Franklin.

Supported by writingWA. 

Karya Kim Scott berjudul Benang (1999) merupakan novel pertama penulis ternama ini yang berhasil memenangkan Miles Franklin Award. That Deadman Dance (2010) juga memenangkan penghargaan sastra Australia, dan lainnya. Merasa bangga berada di antara orang-orang Noongar, Kim menjadi Pendiri dan Dewan bagi Wirlomin Noogar Language and Study Project. Taboo merupakan novel terbarunya, yang masuk dalam nominasi Miles Franklin.

Didukung oleh writingWA.

Appearing in

Main Program: Kim Scott: Taboo

Stunning. Formidable. Truth-telling. Two-time Miles Franklin winner Kim Scott is at the forefront of storytelling in Australia, tackling difficult questions of its colonial past in a way that expands the …

Main Program: Local Wisdom

Colonial legacies and encroaching commercial forces threaten Indigenous cultures across the Asia-Pacific. Four champions of culture will tell us about their work preserving traditional languages, stories and knowledge and empowering …

Special Event: Look Who’s Coming to Lunch at Nusantara by Locavore

Nusantara is the Indonesian archipelago. From Sumatra to Sulawesi, take a culinary journey across 17,000 islands in the finest literary company. Alongside some of the Festival’s most fascinating speakers, you’ll …